British Society for Rheumatology > About BSR > Committees, SIGs and Regions > Regions > Mersey


About BSR * Committees, SIGs and Regions * Regions * Mersey

Mersery hold a monthly regional rheumatology postgraduate meeting is held at UHA, with participation from all hospital sites in the region. This is the main postgraduate educational meeting. The meeting is also utilised to provide updates of the societies activities and coordinate discussion of service delivery and governance issues. A regional high cost drugs and specialised commissioning group meets 3 times a year to coordinate the development of regional pathways and business cases with commissioners. The North West Rheumatology Club is a forum covering the whole of the NW including Merseyside, Manchester and Lancs/Cumbria. There are twice yearly meetings, providing an opportunity for presentation of original research and service improvement projects, and networking. Recently this has been expanded to include trainee and trainer development.

Geographical area covered:

Greater Merseyside including the Liverpool, Sefton and Wirral, and parts of West Cheshire, an approximate population catchment area of 2 million.

Where rheumatology services are delivered:

The Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals (RLBUH), Whiston and St Helen's Hospitals (WStH), University Hospital Aintree (UHA), Wirral University Teaching Hospital, Warrington and Halton Hospitals, Countess of Chester Hospital, Southport and Ormskirk Hospitals and Leighton Hospital (Crewe).

Where specialist training takes place:

The academic department is based at Aintree University Hospital, with tertiary and specialised services also delivered at RLBUHT and Chester. Undergraduate students from Liverpool University are taught at the majority of sites in the region. There are 11 Specialty Registrar training posts with at least 1 in each site, and 2 posts at RLBUH, UHA and WStH. Higher specialty training is supervised by HEE NW based in Manchester, though the Mersey and Greater Manchester programmes are separate.

Regional chair:

Email to find out who is your Regional chair