British Society for Rheumatology > About BSR > Committees, SIGs and Regions > Regions > South Central

South Central

About BSR * Committees, SIGs and Regions * Regions * South Central

South Central hold two regularly active clinical forums in the region. Wessex Regional Rheumatology Meetings take place quarterly at the Wessex Deanery in Otterbourne. Each meeting is hosted by a different hospital unit in rotation. Wessex Clinical Services Committee meetings are held twice a year alongside the STC meetings and focus on local clinical and governance issues. Oxford Regional Meetings occur monthly as half day meetings in Oxford itself, with quarterly full day meetings hosted by the remaining units in rotation. Predominantly clinical but also training and governance issues are discussed at these meetings, which include parallel sessions for Regional Trainers, AHPs and trainees.

Geographical area covered:

The area covered encompasses the Isle of Wight, Hampshire, Berkshire, Oxfordshire and South Buckinghamshire.

Where rheumatology services are delivered:

Specialised centres for tertiary rheumatology referral are established at the larger university centres, located in Southampton and Oxford. Secondary care rheumatology departments are located in the main acute medical hospital trusts, including: St Mary's Hospital, IOW; Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth; University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust; Royal Hampshire County Hospital, Winchester; Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital, Basingstoke; Salisbury District Hospital; Christchurch and Royal Bournemouth Hospitals; Poole General Hospital; Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading; Wexham Park Hospital, Slough; Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Aylesbury; Great Western Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Swindon and the Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford.

Where specialist training takes place:

There are two teaching hospitals – The Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford and University Hospital Southampton. Undergraduates from Oxford, Southampton and the London Medical Schools are taught at units across the region. There are active postgraduate education programmes in rheumatology centred around the Wessex (south) and Oxford (north) deaneries. There are 12 training posts for Specialty Trainees in Rheumatology within the Wessex Deanery. The current Wessex Training Programme Director is Prof Elaine Dennison (University Hospital, Southampton). There are 12 training posts for Specialty Trainees in Rheumatology within the Oxford Deanery. The current Training Programme Director is Dr Richard Stevens (Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Aylesbury). The majority of trainees across both deaneries are now dual accrediting in Rheumatology/GIM.

Regional chair:

Email to find out who is your Regional chair

Latest Tweet


New to #Twitter or want to meet fellow #tweeters? Join the official #Rheum2017 tweetup, BSR stand, 08:30, 25 Apr, exhibition hall

Contact us

British Society for Rheumatology
Bride House, 18-20 Bride Lane,
London EC4Y 8EE
T: +44 (0) 20 7842 0900
Company No: 3470316
Charity No: 1067124
VAT No: 404 5637 66

Join us

We are the UK's leading specialist medical society for rheumatology and musculoskeletal professionals, and we welcome applications from all health professionals in these fields.