We are currently working to resolve technical issues preventing us from processing applications or payment for membership. Please email Membership on subscriptions@rheumatology.org.uk with any queries.

The Best Practice Awards are back and will be opening for applications this September, giving you a chance to showcase your team's innovative practices. 

The awards recognise excellence in UK rheumatology and celebrate exemplary services that innovate and deliver best practice across every aspect of rheumatology treatment. New for 2020, we are partnering with Versus Arthritis to recognise schemes that closely involve patients in their local service improvements.

The new partnership further boosts the importance and credibility of the awards and ensures even wider recognition for your hard work and dedication. On the new partnership, Matt Murray, Head of Involvement at Versus Arthritis said: "Versus Arthritis believes that empowering and involving people with lived experience of arthritis provides unique insights that are crucial for the success of health service improvement initiatives. We are delighted to partner with the society to celebrate and share best practice in meaningful patient involvement so that it becomes an effective and essential way of working for all".

Key awards details and timings

The entry criteria is now published, along with the timelines for applications plus shortlisting and announcements:

  • Applications open 2 Sept 2019

  • Applications close 27 Sept 2019

  • Initial shortlisting 1-25 Oct 2019

  • Site visits Nov/Dec 2019

  • Shortlisting Jan 2020

  • Winners announced at Annual Conference Apr 2020

For this cycle of awards, the winners will be announced to the profession at our Annual Conference in April 2020 during the prestigious Jewels in the Crown session. Winners will have an opportunity to present their work during a Best Practice conference session and shortlisted sites will be able to showcase their work through a poster at the event.

You can read more about the awards and see in depth posters about the 2018 winners and shortlisted site on the Best Practice Awards page.

Find out more