We are currently working to resolve technical issues preventing us from processing applications or payment for membership. Please email Membership on subscriptions@rheumatology.org.uk with any queries.

We are pleased to announce the winners of the following awards:

Michael Mason Award

Dr Neil Basu, University of Glasgow, recognised for their excellent research in rheumatology. Dr Basu will present their work at the Annual Conference in April.

Garrod Award

Dr Matteo Vecellio, NDORMS – Institute of Musculoskeletal Sciences, University of Oxford, was awarded for excellence in scientific research in the field of rheumatology. Dr Vecellio will present their work at the Annual Conference in April. 

Young Investigator Award

Melissa Tordoff, The University of Manchester, for their abstract ‘Genetic risk factors associated with increased risk of uveitis in patients with juvenile idiopathic arthritis'

Dr Varvara Choida, University College London Hospitals, for their abstract ‘Frequency and site of clinically unsuspected synovitis on whole-body MRI in juvenile idiopathic arthritis'

Clinical Award

Dr Jane Whiteman, Craigavon Area Hospital, for their clinical work for the abstract ‘Improving patient care cost-effectively through a virtual rheumatology biologic clinic’

Paul Bacon Vasculitis Award

Francesco Dernie, Merton College, University of Oxford, for their abstract ‘Incidence, characteristics and determinants of severe infections in patients with anti-neutrophil cytoplasm antibody-associated vasculitis receiving rituximab therapy: a single centre study’

BSR/ASME Joint Educational Research Award

Rosealeen Killick, Frimley Park Hospital, for their abstract ‘Delivering far-reaching patient education in rheumatological conditions and treatments: radio rheumatology podcasts’

Student Award in association with Versus Arthritis

Dr Kim Lauper, The University of Manchester, for their abstract ‘Serious infection with tocilizumab compared to TNF-inhibitors and other bDMARDS in rheumatoid arthritis patients: does line of therapy matter?’

Rebecca Nock, University of Sheffield, for their abstract ‘Juvenile idiopathic arthritis is core business in adult rheumatology: the case for specialist services’

Balamrit Singh Sokhal, Keele University, for their abstract ‘Prevalence of fragility fractures and medication prescription for osteoporosis in patients with polymyalgia rheumatica : Results from the PMR Cohort Study

Melissa Sweeney, King’s College London, for their abstract ‘The Impacts of COVID-19 lockdown on mental health and quality of life in patients with inflammatory arthritis’